Back to School

 

What have I gotten myself into…on top of moving and getting a new job, I have decided to go back to school for my MBA.

CRAZY RIGHT!?!?! I mean when you walked across the stage and collected your college degree, homework and tests were supposed to be a thing of the past…right?  Nope not in today’s reality!

In the field I work in (Marketing), Master’s Degrees are quickly becoming a requirement in order to get promoted or even get hired.  So, in order to stay competitive I took the plunge back into the life of a college student, getting my MBA.

It is amazing how quickly you forget how to take notes or do your homework efficiently while maximizing your grade (I swear I used to have a system for that).  I also apparently put up a mental block to the amount of reading that is required (okay so maybe I just didn’t do it in undergrad and that’s why I don’t remember)!   While there are certainly some growing pains getting used to the course work again, it is incorporating it into my everyday life that is proving to be the real challenge.

I mean I am settled into my “adult” life and have a routine, where am I supposed to fit all this in at?  Its like trying to teach an old dog new tricks.

Have any of you gone back to school and juggled a full-time job? Any advice you can offer?

Leave a Reply

