IMG_3627

I decided to use Command Picture Hanging Strips by 3M to install most of my Gallery Wall Project, the few exceptions are the stone pieces and the shelving.  I wanted something easy to change out so that I can swap out the photos whenever the whim strikes me.  Also, confession time, I wanted something easy to hang, because all of my frames had different hanging mechanisms and getting them level was becoming a nightmare (I figured this out 6 holes in my wall later).

Overall Rating: Winner!

I am truly happy with the results if this product, they do exactly what they claim to do and were super easy to install.

Instructions: I followed the instructions to the letter, and I recommend you do too.  They were very clear and easy to follow.

Installation: A breeze!  Holding the level on the photos and pressing on the tabs is defiantly a two man job, but installation was as simple as sticking a piece of tape to the wall.

Tips: Don’t skip sets, especially cleaning the wall and frames with alcohol (Your wall paint may change colors for a minute when you wipe it down with the alcohol, but mine bounced back once it dried).  Speaking of drying, make sure to let the wall and the frames dry completely before putting on the strips.

When placing the strips on the frame, cheat the strips closer to the inside of the frame versus the outer edge, this will help make sure you can’t see the strip once it is on the wall.

The instructions also require that you remove the photos from the wall once installed for about an hour, but I recommend waiting over night just to make sure everything has cured properly.

Last tip, Use four strips per frame as I read reviews online that stated if you use only two the frame’s weight can eventually cause it to slide down the strip and fall off the wall.

Pricing: $$  One package does about 3 frames when you go with the four strip method and it runs about $6.00 per package.  Doing the whole wall got up there in price when a pack of nails that costs less than one package of hanging strips could do the same job, but for my purposes and the convenience, I rate it as totally worth it.

Continued Use:  It has been a few weeks since the first photos went up on the wall, so I will keep you posted on how these hold up, but so far they are all still firmly on the wall.

Have you ever used Command Strips from 3M?  If so, what did you think?  What did you hang up?  Share your project below or with #vintageDIY.  

FTC: This post is not sponsored and all opinions are my own. 

Leave a Reply

