Gallery Wall

I have lived in my home for almost 3 years now, and there is almost NOTHING on the walls.  Why you ask?  Because I am indecisive!

Well this past Friday I was home sick from work and VERY BORED, so I made a decision!  To create a gallery wall in my home.

First, I walked around my house and collected frames, photos and knick knacks I liked, most of which were just never unpacked when we moved (don’t judge).  Believe it or not, I didn’t have to buy anything to create this gallery wall.  (You absolutely can, but it is doable with things you find around your house.)

Next, decide on the basic shape you want to create.  I decided on a square.  Then, lay all the items on the ground and arrange and rearrange till you think you have got it just about right.

IMG_3611

Now, this step is totally optional, but since I am SUPER indecisive I decided not to skip it.  Trace all your items on paper, cut them out, and tape them up on the wall (with blue painters tape) so that you can see what it will look like on the wall in the space you have chosen.  (As you can see below, I swapped two items once I saw them on the wall, and I also ended up raising the whole gallery wall 3 inches.)

You can use this step to make sure your spacing is correct and everything is level.  You can also mark the paper with where the nail holes will need to be for easy hanging.  (I am using 3M Command Strips instead of nails, review coming soon.)

IMG_3613Next, paint any frames that need to be painted (I painted all of mind white for a more uniformed look), clean your frames, or put in any last minute photos.  Last but not least, hang your photos and knick knacks, step back and admire all your hard work.

IMG_3638

I love my completed gallery wall!  It houses some of my favorite photos, and vintage knick knacks (is that a piece of milk glass up there? More to come on that!).   And of course it would be complete without the signature M.  As you can see I still have some photos to fill in, but I have big plans for those, so stay tuned for future posts.

Do you have a gallery wall in your house?  What shape did you pick?  Do you have any tips for making the process easier? Share your tips, tricks and finished projects below or with #vintageDIY.

Leave a Reply

