The King’s Daughter by Barbara Kyle

 

Every once in a while, I swing by my local used book store and browse the shelves for things I might find interesting. Used books stores are GREAT if you are an avid reader, as you can often trade your books for store credit. One of the books I picked up in the last drop by was “The King’s Daughter “ by Barbara Kyle.

I had never heard of the author or the book, but the back synopsis peeked my interest. Turns out this book is the second in a series of 6 books about the Thornleigh family. (I have a real knack for picking out series.) The novel is set during a rebellion happening during the rule of Queen Mary following the death of Henry VIII, and it tells the story of Isabel Thornleigh whose perfect world is thrown into a tail spin when she needs to decide between loyalty to her family and loyalty to her country. With the help of a Spanish Mercenary with a secret, she discovers more about her family’s past then she wanted to know. When faced with a life nation-changing decision, which life will she choose? Who will die because of her choice? Her loving fiancé? Her father? Her wounded mother? Her unlikely friend? Queen Mary?

The novel started off slow, and flips between Queen Mary’s story and Isabel’s story. I will admit I caught myself trying to skim past bits of the story focused on Queen Mary, but the storyline overall is really creative. If you like the Tudor time period (let’s face it who doesn’t), then this is a good read for you. The characters are complex, and the writing style of the novel flows easily.

All in all it was a good read, but I am not rushing out to get the next book in the series. I will put these books on my “to-read” list on Goodreads, but they may be on there for a while.

Have you read one of the Thornleigh books by Barbara Kyle? If so, did you enjoy it? What other Tudor time period novels do you recommend?

If you would like to see other books I recommend, visit mygoodreads account.

Do you have a goodreads account? If so, let me know, I would love to see what you are reading.

Leave a Reply

