Vintage Window Up-Cycle

I teased on my Instagram a while back that I was working on an up-cycle project.  Well its finally complete!

IMG_3385

Story behind the window:
Being from South Louisiana I have a natural love for vintage things, but this one holds a particular place in my heart.  It is an old window from my Grandfather’s childhood home on the river.  The house was built in the very early 1900s and was recently sold (to another family member), but before they tore the old house down (it was falling apart) we were able to take some pieces.  I was fortunate to grab this old window, a pair of vintage french doors (more to come on those) and some antique christmas ornaments (stay tuned to see how I use these).

The Project:
Being that this window is a “member of my family” I wanted to find a way to give it new life.  Here is what I did:IMG_3387

1. I sanded down the window and clean her up using some Windex (always wear a mask when working with painted antiques).  I also had to scarp away several layers of old paint around the window panes.  Don’t sand it to perfection in order to keep some of the antique qualities coming through with the new coat of paint.

2. Then I applied several layers of white paint.  I was going for a clean look, but feel free to wipe away or sand away some of your paint to  get a more aged, weather worn affect.

3. I then printed off an “M” from google imaged and cut it out.  I then taped around the letter with painters tape and removed the stencil.

4. I painted the letter in with a taping motion to avoid paint seeping under the tape.

5. LET THE PAINT DRY! (I made this mistake and had to scrap it off and start over). If you don’t let it dry the paint won’t stick to the glass.

6. Use a razor blade and carefully trace the letter where the paint meets the tape.  Gently peel away the tape.

7. Use a small flat head screwdriver to scrape away any small mistake or bleeding.

This was a fun project, but it takes a good deal of patience, especially if you aren’t overly talented with paint (like me).

Vintage windows are pretty easy to come across at salvage yards and antique stores, so you can certainly do this project at your home.  Look for windows with a story, if you can’t find one, look for a window with unique architectural details to spice up your project.

Next Steps:
I am thinking of adding a photo behind it before I hang it on the wall in my hallway.

What do you think?  Yes or No?

7dc233d3b59a0e2bc5f5423a83291715
Photo C/O Pinterest

Have you ever up-cycled something vintage?  If so, what did you do?  Share your pictures below or using #vintageupcycle I would love to see your finished projects. 

One thought on “Vintage Window Up-Cycle

Leave a Reply

