Ode to My Favorite Book Series…The Secret History of the Pink Carnation

My favorite book series of all time is celebrating its 10th anniversary this year! What better day to share my love for this series than Valentines Day!

I discovered the Pink series through my mom.  She told me she had read the first book and thought I would love it, so I added it to my growing list of novels to read without much thought.  The very next day I walked into a local used book store and the first book, “The Secret History of the Pink Carnation” was sitting on the shelf.  I picked it up and LOVED it!  11 books later and many phone calls with my mom (She is reading the series too) it is my favorite series EVER, even ahead of Harry Potter (shocked I know).

The novels follow two parallel storylines one set in modern day and the other in the early 1800s:

The modern storyline follows Eloise, a graduate student who is determine to unmask the most elusive spy in history, the Pink Carnation, but in order to do that she must navigate her complicated relationship with Collin, a descendent of the flowery spy.

The 1800s stories follow a different character within each novel, but I won’t spoil the storylines for you by giving too much away, just know that each novel features the perfect amount of mystery, romance, adventure and comedy.

There are currently 11 novels, and Lauren is working on the 12th and final installment right now.  She is an amazing writer!  Her style is easy to read and you really feel invested in the stories she has written.

Here are the 12 novels, but incase you can’t get enough (like me) there are a few novellas available to read as well on her site. I love all the books in the series, and recommend you read them all, but I have highlighted my favorites:

1. The Secret History of the Pink Carnation
2. The Masque of the Black Tulip
3. The Deception of the Emerald Ring
4. The Seduction of the Crimson Rose
5. The Temptation of the Night Jasmine
6. The Betrayal of the Blood Lilly
7. The Mischief of the Mistletoe
8. The Orchid Affair
9. The Garden Intrigue
10. The Passion of the Purple Plumeria
11. The Mark of the Midnight Manzanilla
12. The Lure of the Moonflower (coming soon)

I have a stack of very well loved books, read multiple times, and it is my dream to see them come to life in a mini-series one day!  (Who doesn’t love a good mini-series!)

Happy Anniversary Pink Series!  I look forward to reading the last installment with excitement and a little sadness! Have you read the Pink Carnation Series?  If so, what book is your favorite?

Leave a Reply

